D-Day – December 25th 2013 – Spoiler Alert

My apologies to the World War II generation for co-opting the “D-Day” moniker but I couldn’t resist.

Two days ago a discussion took place between myself and Jim. He’s been saving money in a cruising fund for a while now but it’s been burning a hole in his pocket.  I think he finally got fed up with me caterwauling about my damn loan.  Though I’m a mere 8 months from having it paid off, he just couldn’t take it anymore. 

On Friday he transferred $10,000 to my checking account.  There is now a $10,000 payment sitting on my Sallie Mae account due to post on Tuesday this week.  That leaves $8,000. 

Jim says we’re paying this loan off by this Christmas, hell or high water.  That means I keep busting my tail to earn the last $8,000, he will make up the difference, if there is one.

Naturally, once Sallie Mae is out of our hair, I will keep busting my tail to replenish the cruising fund.  By summer, I should have that paid up.

Jesus, Joseph and Mary…! I don’t know whether to laugh or cry.

Note:  You will each receive an invitation to a party which will take place in January or February.  It’s bound to be one helluva bash…

2 thoughts on “D-Day – December 25th 2013 – Spoiler Alert

  1. I don’t know how I feel about this. You let your husband pay off a loan that you accrued and dinked around with for years. The only real win here is that you married well. It was often offered to me to pay off all my debt when I was with David, but I wouldn’t let him because it was my mess to clean up. I really don’t know how I feel about this.

Leave a comment